Welcome to St. Paul’s Church

St. Paul’s is a welcoming and inclusive community of about 280 members who come from all over the greater Milwaukee area.

We treasure the richness and diversity God has given our community, as it enhances our understanding of God.

December 14, 2014: Following John, and Jesus

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Third Sunday of Advent

John the Baptizer – a major character who plays a minor role – that’s his story; he’s sticking to it. John’s prominence in Advent soon fades once Jesus is center stage.

Religion and church at its best creates space and time for consciousness of God. That’s why you come here week after week – to experience and grow in God’s grace, to help you see God at work in your life and in others each day. Religious authorities like to control that experience. Sometimes they like to tell you what God wants you to think and do. Personally, I recommend running from people like that. They scare me. At best I have opinions, thoughts and experiences of God and so do you. In sharing them, which we need to do, we can still be humble in our confidence. Are any of us really certain? We may be wrong.

Continue reading December 14, 2014: Following John, and Jesus

Christmas Services at St Paul’s

 

December 7, 2014: Showdown in the Wilderness

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Second Sunday of Advent

Most people think the good news of Jesus begins at Bethlehem’s manger. Mark says, “Not so fast.” It’s a birth all right, the birth of a movement, John heralds, not a baby. Mark omits the Christmas stories we love. Maybe he didn’t know them. He knew good news, though. But that didn’t rate his story making it to screen on “Hallmark’s Countdown to Christmas” series.

Continue reading December 7, 2014: Showdown in the Wilderness

Scott Stoner at Boswell Books–Thursday, December 4

Local Author Rev. Dr. Scott Stoner, author of Your Living Compass
Thursday December 4, at 7:00 pm

Minister, psychotherapist, local author, and founding Director of the Samaritan Family Wellness Center, Rev. Dr. Scott Stoner, will join us at Boswell Book Company to discuss and sign copies of his new book Your Living Compass, which engages readers in a 10-week, self-guided wellness retreat, with daily ten-minute readings, plus small, meaningful action steps designed to improve readers’ lives, relationships, and work. Perfect for fans of Barbara Brown Taylor and Steven Covey!

Living Compass is a church-based faith and wellness program designed for individuals and small groups. Deeply spiritual and exceedingly practical, Your Living Compass joins the national Living Compass network, which includes a website, workshop series, wellness resources (including a free Living Well with Living Compass app), social media, and a new multi-million-dollar wellness center located in the offices of the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago.

About the Author: Scott Stoner, director of the Samaritan Foundation for Church and Family Wellness, is the founder of the Living Compass faith and wellness ministry. As an Episcopal priest, pastoral counselor, licensed marriage and family therapist, spiritual director, and retreat leader for thirty-one years, he has led more than 45,000 hours of individual and family wellness conversations, plus hundreds of retreats. He lives in Shorewood, Wisconsin.

 

November 30, 2014: Mark 13:24-37

Sermon
Deacon Sheila M. Scott
First Sunday of Advent

Today is the first Sunday in Advent. In little over 3 weeks we will be celebrating Christmas, the birth of Jesus!

Are you ready for Christmas? No doubt you have been asked this question multiple times around this time of the year. I am sure that question did not have anything to do with Advent preparation and the birth of Jesus.

In our society this question has everything to do with buying lots of stuff one does not need but wants because of the fixation on having the best and latest of everything in order to supposedly be happy and successful. It is even portrayed as patriotic since we are told consumer spending helps our economy. One is made to feel guilty if one does not buy into this spending frenzy.

Continue reading November 30, 2014: Mark 13:24-37

November 23, 2014: Final Jeopardy

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Last Sunday after Pentecost

It’s over – well, nearly – the church year that is. Did you catch the gospel – the ultimate year-end clearance – final jeopardy; Judgment Day – time to see who’s been naughty or nice. Today is Christ the King, or Reign of Christ Sunday – your preference.

Continue reading November 23, 2014: Final Jeopardy

November 16, 2014: Good and Trustworthy

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Twenty-Third Sunday after Pentecost

He tells me after the sermon, “I’m a five-talent guy.” I didn’t realize pride was a talent you should develop. I could see he was proud of his. He’s a prominent doctor, has a thriving practice, a civic and church leader, too. “My son has the talent to be a physician. You are the one to convince him for me.” Great – I swallowed hard. I knew Junior loved working with his hands. To dad that smelled of another surgeon in the family. Fortunately, Gene followed his heart. He became a gifted carpenter, and earned Dad’s profound disappointment, knowing he’d buried his talent. I felt like saying, “Doc – you played your dad card and just blew it.

Continue reading November 16, 2014: Good and Trustworthy

Frankly Music presents: Strauss and Mozart

For our second event at St. Paul’s we celebrate the 150th anniversary of the birth of Richard Strauss, featuring his epic Metamorphosen and the gorgeous sextet from his late opera Capriccio. We acknowledge Strauss’s lifelong admiration of Mozart with his String Quintet, K. 515.

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 24th

7:00pm

PROGRAM:
Richard Strauss: String Sextet from “Cappricio”
Mozart: Quintet for Strings, K. 515
Richard Strauss: Metamorphosen (Septet version)

Frank Almond, violin
Ilana Setapen, violin
Yuka Kadota, violin
Toby Appel, viola
Mario Gotoh, viola
Susan Babini, cello
Peter Thomas, cello
Andrew Raciti, bass

Tickets: $10.00 – $30.00
Student Tickets Available: $10 each

To order tickets:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/strauss-and-mozart-tickets-11995915105

An Advent Service of Lessons and Carols

St. Paul’s Episcopal Church is delighted to host this annual 

Sequence of Readings, Poetry, Meditations, and Music for the Advent Season 

featuring the St. Paul Choir, Timothy Benson, Director

with guest organist Lee Erickson 

and the music of James MacMillan, John Rutter, Glenn Rudolph, Malcolm Archer, Gerald Near, Andrew Carter, William Mathias, David Willcocks, and hymns and carols of the season. 

Join us as we usher in the holiday season in the most beautiful of ways!

This Advent Lessons & Carols Service departs from the usual grouping of Lessons and uses, instead, both Scripture and poetry as its point of departure. All of the music, prayer, poetry, meditation, and Scripture in the service point us to that very universal human (and often uncomfortable) experience: waiting, anticipation. Advent (ad venire—to come to) as a liturgical season is fraught with anticipation—anticipation of release from the bondage of sin, anticipation of the coming of the long-promised Messiah, anticipation of the fulfillment of the Prophets’ promises made so long ago, and anticipation of a very real, a very loving, and a very permanent relationship with the One who is to come. Sadly, contemporary culture gives scant notice of the four weeks of Advent. Sad because this time of preparation for the birth of our Redeemer is full of opportunities to catch our breath, to be silent during a time of much noise, and to reflect upon our position as creatures, not only in need of redemption, but loved so much that the Creator of all things became one of us to accomplish that redemption. And so, despite the fact that this service takes a little liberty with the traditional form, we have tried to maintain its wonderful spirit, and hope that you find it a prayerful and beautiful way to enter into this joyous and hope-filled Christmas Season.

All are welcome.      Freewill offering.      Reception to follow.

• Saturday, December 13th

• 4:00pm

November 9, 2014: What is Wisdom Anyway?

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Twenty-Second Sunday after Pentecost

Can you believe Jesus would tell such a parable? Ten young bridesmaids, stood up by a delinquent bridegroom – five girls end up locked out in the dark night for being foolish. I assume you said, “Thanks be to God,” not because you agree that’s where fools need to be, but that’s what we automatically say, even if the story stinks.

Continue reading November 9, 2014: What is Wisdom Anyway?