Welcome to St. Paul’s Church

St. Paul’s is a welcoming and inclusive community of about 280 members who come from all over the greater Milwaukee area.

We treasure the richness and diversity God has given our community, as it enhances our understanding of God.

January 11, 2015: A Heavens-Ripping Declaration at the River

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Baptism of Our Lord

What sort of God are you looking for? Did you even know you can create your own? Yep – it’s not only possible, but probable. The philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau once stated: “God created man in his own image. And man, being a gentleman, returned the favor.” Being the gentleman Rousseau was, I imagine he’d now want women to feel included, as well.

Continue reading January 11, 2015: A Heavens-Ripping Declaration at the River

What is going on at St. Paul’s in January

Check out the newest Apostle newsletter…just click on NEWS…then click on the Apostle icon.

January 4, 2014: Joy for the Journey

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Second Sunday after Christmas Day

A Christmas test: Rank, in order, your favorite incidences of the Christmas story: For CPA and IRS fans, it’s tax season in Bethlehem; for the ethereal and other-worldly, you may choose angels; for the agrarians, shepherds; for any of us, a young couple, a manger and their baby; lowing cattle (not in Luke, but in a favorite Christmas carol); a star; wise men. Once they drop off their gifts, adore, and by-pass Herod to go home, Christmas should end. A ruthless, paranoid little king killing babies two and under around Bethlehem has no business in our nice Christmas. These stories give us a bad reputation: “Look at what your God lets happen – sends Messiah and a bunch of innocent children die.” Maybe the church – and your priests, like me, have done a poor job awakening God’s new life in you – nurturing us to be agents of divine love that finally defeats evil – which evidently isn’t that compelling a strategy. God actually trusts and empowers us to battle evil, hatred, violence in this world. So who likely goes missing in this equation – God or us?

Continue reading January 4, 2014: Joy for the Journey

December 28, 2014: When Light Gets Ahold of Darkness

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
First Sunday after Christmas Day

What are the memorable parts of the Christmas story for you? Most people follow Luke’s chapters, with a splash of Matthew folded in. Earthy and holy at the same time – a simple pregnant couple, a journey, sharing a room with livestock, a baby’s birth, angels appear to shepherds, who get religion and go see what is going on, magi following a star. It’s beautifully entertaining – inspiration for carols, anthems and Christmas greeting cards, except for the genealogies and that awful genocide thing.

Continue reading December 28, 2014: When Light Gets Ahold of Darkness

December 24, 2014: Christmas Eve 2014

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Christmas Eve

Why do you think so many people attend Christmas Eve services? I’m reading a new book on preaching. I, too, hope it helps. I’ve learned you don’t come to church to hear us preach. Well, shatter my ego – I’m just getting the memo. I can tell by your head nods you already know this – right?

Continue reading December 24, 2014: Christmas Eve 2014

Christmas Services at St Paul’s

 

December 21, 2014: Messages from Beyond

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Fourth Sunday of Advent

Do you awaken in the night, worried your theology of angels is adequate? – Me either. At Christmas angels wing their ways from realms of glory with announcements, visions and warnings, and heavenly choirs. I doubt they resemble the angel atop the Christmas tree – Victorian females in formal gowns. That doesn’t fit Gabriel. Nor do angels look like chubby, harp-playing cherubs. Such depictions of angels came later in history. In our day Guardian angels are the genre of interest.  Who couldn’t use a little extra protection and guidance through this present veil of tears especially if God isn’t working for you?

Continue reading December 21, 2014: Messages from Beyond

December 14, 2014: Following John, and Jesus

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Third Sunday of Advent

John the Baptizer – a major character who plays a minor role – that’s his story; he’s sticking to it. John’s prominence in Advent soon fades once Jesus is center stage.

Religion and church at its best creates space and time for consciousness of God. That’s why you come here week after week – to experience and grow in God’s grace, to help you see God at work in your life and in others each day. Religious authorities like to control that experience. Sometimes they like to tell you what God wants you to think and do. Personally, I recommend running from people like that. They scare me. At best I have opinions, thoughts and experiences of God and so do you. In sharing them, which we need to do, we can still be humble in our confidence. Are any of us really certain? We may be wrong.

Continue reading December 14, 2014: Following John, and Jesus

December 7, 2014: Showdown in the Wilderness

Sermon
The Rev. Dr. C. Steven Teague, Rector
Second Sunday of Advent

Most people think the good news of Jesus begins at Bethlehem’s manger. Mark says, “Not so fast.” It’s a birth all right, the birth of a movement, John heralds, not a baby. Mark omits the Christmas stories we love. Maybe he didn’t know them. He knew good news, though. But that didn’t rate his story making it to screen on “Hallmark’s Countdown to Christmas” series.

Continue reading December 7, 2014: Showdown in the Wilderness

Scott Stoner at Boswell Books–Thursday, December 4

Local Author Rev. Dr. Scott Stoner, author of Your Living Compass
Thursday December 4, at 7:00 pm

Minister, psychotherapist, local author, and founding Director of the Samaritan Family Wellness Center, Rev. Dr. Scott Stoner, will join us at Boswell Book Company to discuss and sign copies of his new book Your Living Compass, which engages readers in a 10-week, self-guided wellness retreat, with daily ten-minute readings, plus small, meaningful action steps designed to improve readers’ lives, relationships, and work. Perfect for fans of Barbara Brown Taylor and Steven Covey!

Living Compass is a church-based faith and wellness program designed for individuals and small groups. Deeply spiritual and exceedingly practical, Your Living Compass joins the national Living Compass network, which includes a website, workshop series, wellness resources (including a free Living Well with Living Compass app), social media, and a new multi-million-dollar wellness center located in the offices of the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago.

About the Author: Scott Stoner, director of the Samaritan Foundation for Church and Family Wellness, is the founder of the Living Compass faith and wellness ministry. As an Episcopal priest, pastoral counselor, licensed marriage and family therapist, spiritual director, and retreat leader for thirty-one years, he has led more than 45,000 hours of individual and family wellness conversations, plus hundreds of retreats. He lives in Shorewood, Wisconsin.